• Announcements

• Frinkeldoodle

Notice for Anyone Using Dolphin Browser   12/13/2016

I've discovered there's a particular bug that occurs when using Dolphin Browser here that autofills your username and password... into a thread's title and tag fields when you create or edit one. I advise anyone using Dolphin Browser at the moment to discontinue using it here until either Dolphin fixes their autofill so it doesn't do that, or until IP.Board releases an update that reverses what causes that to happen.
Guest Celestia

Pony drawing TIPS thread

8 posts in this topic

Since we're fans of a show represented in a beautiful, 2D, graphical, beautifully drawn way... I thought it might be a neat idea to have a place where we can share ideas to help other ponies get started drawing... and to get better at drawing once they've gotten started! <3

I used to be an animator, and I used to teach drawing and animation... and part of that teaching was going to places and giving a short, roughly 1h seminar/practicum that would give attendees a major boost to their drawing skills.

The technique is something I picked-up while animating at a studio for which I'd wanted to work all my life.  (But the technique itself is actually centuries old -- it's not unlike how the Old Masters would learn by re-creating other master-artists' work themselves.)

As described to me, when the technique's steps are faithfully followed, it allowed for a clean-up artist to quickly learn how to draw a new character exactly as it was on the model-sheet, (as opposed to drawing that artist's version of the character).

But like all training... if you follow it, you get the benefits... if you don't follow it... you don't.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5078/Amadhia/DrawAsYouDream_II-b.pdf

So, above is the hand-out for the drawing seminar I'd give...

...And the five most important things to make sure you always, always do are: